Vossy loves us

Discussion on anything to do with Melbourne Storm - games, players, rumours - anything!
Cameron
Monsoon
Monsoon

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/02/20/why ... -40-years/

Why the Storm are the NRL's most entertaining premiers in 40 years

AuthorAndrew Voss Fox League Commentator Timestamp Tue 20 Feb 2018, 12:00 PM

Andrew Voss on the NRL's brilliant premiers as well as a teenage England star on the rise and a dream for the rugby league world.

It's time for a Tuesday league feast folks. The BBQ is smoking… Let's talk a little footy.

Awesome Storm

I have covered rugby league in the media for the last 30 years, and followed the sport since the early '70s.

I love the sport. I am a student of the game's history and, as a result, feel qualified to make the following statement.

The Melbourne Storm of 2017 were one of the best club sides I have been privileged to watch. And based on their terrific performance in the World Club Challenge, the remodeled 2018 version is going to be just as much fun to see play.

Will they be able to match the degree of excellence of their premiership-winning season is something that remains to be seen. But they have a host of players who are better for the experience of last year. There was evidence of that against Leeds through the likes of Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Felise Kaufusi and Suliasi Vunivalu.

Brodie Croft is obviously a very special talent. There's the precocious Cameron Munster. The sizzling Josh Addo-Carr. And of course a host of senior players at the peak of their powers.

Melbourne Storm 38-4 Leeds Rhinos

But back to my original point, and I don't necessarily base it just on their superb win/loss record of the last 12 months.

I simply love watching the Storm play. There is no other team I want to see more. In 2017, in my opinion, they were better to watch than in any of the many successful previous seasons in the club's history.